Squeal of delight – It’s christmas time!!!!

 

To start off some random prettiness from the front porch of a lovely lady I know …

Pretty

 

Firstly Christmas

and I’m so far behind where I’d usually be at this time of year

The decorations

 

 

Christmas Decorations

 

are still in a box!

Well apart from the Angels who I must admit have been out all year and this guy

 

Santa Claus

who has made his way out of a box.

To start with some ideas for gifts to make:

Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate mix … I haven’t tried this myself because I’m trying to work out what to substitute for the milk powder.  Its a mix that you would pour hot milk over to make the drink so I’m not sure why the recipe has milk powder in it.  I suspect its to stop the mix clumping together but it just seems unnecessary …. so I’m working on what to put in instead or wondering if I could just leave it out.

You can find the recipe for Chewy Caramels here

Or if you’d like to try your hand at soap go here or for a really environmentally friendly gift and make some borax free powder for the dishwasher then go here

To make your own little bags in lieu of gift wrapping try this pattern

If click and deliver is what you’re looking for this Christmas

Go here for seeds for gardeners – they have the prettiest packets ever!

For more gardening supplies including organic seeds try this company in Queensland

For a natural product that soothes mosquito bites buy this (I  L O V E  this product) … and they also have a fabulous repellant (which I also L O V E).

For clothing from a designer that still manufactures in Australia go here

Or here to buy the Ethical Shopping Guide so that your recipient can shop ‘ethically’ all year long in 2013

For some ceramics made in New South Wales try this website or from Victoria try here

For some necklaces with inspiring messages go here.  Beth also customises so you can order a necklace or a bracelet with a message of your choosing.

For lotions and potions go here for another local maker

Here for a beautiful website that looks like it sells lovely things for the sewing inclined

and this nifty site which compares the prices of books for you so that you find the best deal

For inspiration from the blogosphere

Sarah Wilson’s Christmas Gift Guide

and from Martha Stewart  – if you go here you’ll find one of her lists and from there can naviage to the others

Check this out if you’re looking for a yummy recipe for the post Christmas day breakfast

and here for biscuits if you’re Australian and cookies if you’re American

If you want to try making some bread try this recipe … because how can you go past a blog from “A cowboys wife“?

Some reading to kick off the new year

Try this on regifting

This to inspire some thinking

and Apartment Therapy because its always wonderful

To Die For: Is Fashion Wearing out the World by Lucy Siegle – I haven’t read this yet but I’ve read a review and it sounded like it would be worth reading.  I’m waiting for my turn on the reserves list at the library so hopefully I can give a personal review soon.

The Dirty Life by Kristin Kimball – in a nutshell this is the story of girl meets boy and moves to country to embrace a farming life.  It’s hands down a winner over Four Seasons with a Grumpy Goat which seriously did not engage me at all.

I’ve also read good reviews of Growing a Farmer by Kurt Timmermeister but I’m waiting for the library to buy it so I can’t give it a personal thumbs up yet.

I’ve also just started reading the Joe Sandilands mystery series by Barbara Cleverly

and now I’d better go and find some decorations to put up!

This entry was posted in Anne, Christmas & other festivals, Retail Emporiums of note, Things to do in Melbourne and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

