What’s in the box? Allow me to introduce you to the Organic Empire?

Thursday night is now an event in my neighbourhood.  It’s been that way the last few weeks since I discovered the awesome folk at the Organic Empire.

On Thursdays I now come home to see this:

What's in the box?

sitting there,

near the front door,

patiently waiting for me to come home.

Open the Lid

 

 

and then I lift up the lid to see what the small organic seasonal box contains this week?

 

When I lifted the lid this week I was greeted with the sight of a massive bunch of silverbeet.

 

 

 

When I lifted out the bunch of silverbeet there was a whole bunch more goodies below ….

Under the Lid

 

The photos are a bit blurry this week … I clicked ’em on the Iphizzle and I didn’t check before I put the fruit n veg away so you can’t really see the contents clearly.

This week the box had the following treats for the tum:

1 massive bunch of silverbeet
1 bunch of asparagus
1/4 of a red cabbage
1 small butternut pumpkin
1 head of celery
7 small carrots
1 head of broccoli
4 oranges
3 apples
3 pears
2 kiwifruit

The small organic seasonal box costs $30.

I also ordered some snow peas, loose spinach leaves, capsicum and an avocado to make sure I had salad ingredients.

I’ve been doing a little reading on eating seasonally and the benefits of doing so.  Which encouraged me to find another organic delivery service.  I say another because some years back I used to get a box delivered from a company based in Gippsland … but then they stopped …. so I stopped …. so you know back to the supermarket it was.

But recently I thought time to get back on board and I found the Organic Empire who are now making Thursday night an event in my ‘hood!

It’s definitely making me think more about what I cook because I definitely want to use up my food and not waste it …. so Taste has been on high google rotation as I keep resorting to it for recipes.  Like the one I found to use up my cabbage last week … you’ll need some frozen peas and fennel seeds as well for this recipe.

I’m hoping it will lead to my somewhat extensive collection of cookbooks getting used a little (well maybe a lot) more too.

Feel free to pass on celery recipes … a whole head of celery is a lot to get through in a week although I have read that it will keep for six weeks in the fridge wrapped in foil – so I may be giving that method a whirl to see if it works.

This entry was posted in Anne, Cooking, Eating & Drinking in Melbourne, On-line shopping and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

