Anne – 9 December 2010 – Hope: Vale Elizabeth Edwards

Remembrance Poppies - Every November by the Shrine of Remembrance, Melbourne. Lest We Forget

I didn’t expect to be back here so soon, however Elizabeth Edwards, wife of former presidential candidate John Edwards, lawyer, writer, mother, daughter, friend and no doubt, so very much more to the people who actually knew and loved her, has reached the end of her journey and died from breast cancer.

I had never heard of Elizabeth Andrews until her husband ran for President (of the USA).  But since then I’ve read things about her.  It has always struck me how much of her identity in the press was depicted in association with her husband’s infidelity and fathering of a child with his mistress.  Which has always struck me as dreadfully unfair … she was a person in her own right and from all accounts an intelligent and personable one.

I can recall reading how, after her son’s death at 16 from a car accident, she bought all of the books on his reading list and then read every single one of them aloud to him at his grave.  I don’t know if this is fact or fiction but I’ve seen it more than once and from everything I have read about her I think its likely that it’s true.  I can only imagine that this took her a very long time for I can’t see how a mother could do that without sobbing her heart out with every word she read.  I think I cried when I read that about her and I didn’t know her or her son.

“I have found that in the simple act of living with hope, and in the daily effort to have a positive impact in the world, the days I do have are made all the more meaningful and precious …” from Elizabeth Edwards last Facebook message

I sometimes forget about Hope.  I forget to believe and trust that things will be ok, if not a whole lot better than that.  That abundance and fulfillment are there for us all.

I think I’m not alone in oftentimes forgetting to make an effort to ensure that I have a “positive impact in the world”.  It’s much easier being selfish.  Not intentionally so but it is staggeringly easy to go through the days focusing on my own concerns without taking the time to think about what I can do for another.

Easy to forget about how precious each  day is.

So today I think it would be good for me and for you to take some time to reflect upon life and hope.  To think about whether or not we have meaning in our life and how we can try to have a positive impact in the world.

This entry was posted in Anne and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

