Fiona: sewing, a new notion

Buttons

Last Saturday I went in search of notions in the Melbourne CBD. My quest – and  vocabulary expansion – was prompted by my first sewing class three days before. Notions, I learnt, are all the things you need in addition to the fabric when you are sewing.

As the rain fell on Saturday morning I sought – and found – a pattern, buttons, thread, a zip, bias binding and interfacing – as well as some black linen. My aim is to make pants I like and feel comfortable in.
I enrolled in sewing class for a number of reasons: I love fabric, I want to be more creative and I would like to be able to make what I can’t often find: clothing in natural fibres that will last more than a season.
I can see already it’s going to challenge me, not only in terms of learning new practical skills but also for the patience that will be required.
But the adventure has begun!

This entry was posted in Fabric & Sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

