Anne – Saturday 20 November 2010 – Chocolate Cake

 

 

Recipe

Oven in the Brunsk

What you'll need to make the cake

Last week the Saturday Age published this recipe and it looked so good I knew I had to cook it.

 

 

 

 

 

 

So this Saturday morning it was time to bake the cake for our FF (Family Function) tomorrow.  I’ve come up to my sister’s house in the Brunsk to bake since her oven is better than mine.  For starters the thermostat works … you get the picture.

 

 

 

To make the cake you’ll need all of these things.

Melting Chocolate

Whipped butter, add vanilla bean

 

I made double the recipe so that we could have one cake for the FF and a cake for the lunch boxes (lunch box cake was put into a log tin because, you know, I think slices fit better into a lunch box than a wedge shaped slice).

Beaten butter, vanilla bean and sugar

 

 

 

 

Beating butter and sugar

Adding in the eggs

 

 

 

 

 

In go the eggs

Time for a cuppa

Make sure you have a sister on hand to make a cup of tea as you bake.

In goes the chocolate

 

Adding in the melted chocolate, almond meal, sour cream, flour

Ready for the oven

In keeping with his advice that the cake is better made a day before eating I’m making today for eating tomorrow … But I’m going to deviate from Matthew Evan’s instructions by splitting the cake in two and adding cream and fresh strawberries in the middle …. Our FF is celebrating three November birthdays (my niecelet, my sister and my sis-in-law) so I figure a little va va voom is called for.

In the oven

Happy birthday S, M E and W

 

 

 

 

I don’t know yet, but I think it will be a cake that keeps fresh in the tin for at least a few days … if your family haven’t devoured it before then.  Scents currently emanating from the oven indicate early devour-a-tion (No I don’t think thats a word either but I’m sure you get my drift).

Yum

 

 

 

So, couldn’t resist ….. had to break into the lunchbox cake ….. Yum!!!

 

 

 

 

Matthew Evans has kindly given permission for me to reproduce his recipe here (See below).

Matthew can be found at (http://www.matthewevans.net.au/).  He has advised that this recipe will probably be included in his next book.  But in the meantime his latest book, the fabulous “Real Food Companion” (ISBN 9781741967203) is out there in bookstores for you to purchase and enjoy.

On the baking topic for those readers (Yes peeps I’m confident – I figure if I start blogging then you’ll all start following me 🙂 who have been to Flour in Boston, Joanne Chang has released her cookbook … Flour: A Baker’s Collection of Spectacular Recipes. I got Books for Cooks in Gertrude St, Fitzroy (http://www.booksforcooks.com.au/) to order it in for me but you can also order from Amazon & Book Depository.  Books for Cooks also have the  Real Food Companion in stock.

I recommend ordering from Books for Cooks (note I haven’t given you the link for the other two and no I’m not on a retainer from Books-for-cooks) – yes it is going to cost you more that way but I really like the idea of making sure that our local small businesses are sustainable and can stay open and I love that bookshop!

Now Flour (www.flourbakery.com) was one of my best easting experiences in Boston (and there were plenty of good eateries in Boston) so I think you’re all going to love this book.

Check out the “Cookbook” tab on the Flour Bakery website to see the feedback that the book has been getting from people who have bought and unlike me, actually cooked from the book.  I wont be able to give you a review until after Christmas.  For now the book is wrapped in Christmas Paper and hiding in the “present box” since its my Christmas present to myself.  It’s patiently waiting for me to set up the Christmas Tree so that it can nestle beneath it waiting for 25 December when I will eagerly rip it open and read it over my breakfast.

For those interested it’s my very strong view that you should start decorating by 1 December … At The Latest. Can you tell I love Christmas?  And don’t you love the segue from baking to Christmas.

A very good, very chocolatey chocolate cake – Matthew Evans

Ingredients:

125g butter, softened
150g (just under a cup) brown sugar
1 tspn vanilla essence
3 eggs
100g dark chocolate (about 50% cocoa content is good), melted
100g sour cream
2 tbsp cocoa, sifted
100g (about 3/4 cup) self-raising flour, sifted
125g (about 1 1/4 cups) almond meal

Method:

Preheat oven to 170C.  Grease and line an 18cm springform cake tin or similar.

Cream the butter and sugar with the vanilla.  Beat in the eggs 1 at a time.  If the mix looks a bit curdled, don’t worry, it isn’t; it’ll come back together when we add the flour, if not before.

Beat in the chocolate, then the sour cream until just combined.  Fold in the sifted cocoa and flour, then the almond meal.  Scrape into the cake tin and smooth the top a bit.

Bake for about 40 – 50 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.  Cool in the tin for 10 minutes, remove the outer ring and cool on a rack, then remove the base.  Ice with ganache.

Ganache
100ml cream
250g dark chocolate, broken, cut or grated into small bits

Heat the cream in a small saucepan, and when it comes to the boil remove from the flame and whisk in the chocolate, returning to the heat if necessary to melt it.  Stir until the mixture is smooth.  Allow to set just enough so that it can be spread over the cake.  Ice from the centre outwards.”

This entry was posted in Anne, Christmas & other festivals, Cooking, Eating & Drinking in Melbourne, On-line shopping, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

